Australia has 15 Nobel prize winners most of them are in the field of Physiology or Medicine!


The Commonwealth of Australia consists of eight states and territories—the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, the Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia.

There are three levels of Australian government: Australian (federal); state and territory; and local. Education and training is the responsibility of the Australian and state and territory governments.

School education

School education has a similar structure across Australia with minor variations between states

and territories.

School education is 13 years and divided into:

• primary school which is seven or eight years—Foundation Year to Year 6 or 7

• secondary school which is three or four years—Years 7-10 or 8-10

• senior secondary school is two years—Years 11 and 12.

Post-secondary education

Post-secondary education is known as tertiary education. Tertiary education includes higher education and vocational education and training (VET).

Academic year

The school year is from February to December. Most states and territories have four terms per school year. Tasmania has a three-term school year.

In VET, the academic year is late January to mid-December. In some states and territories, the academic year is divided into two semesters. Others use a three-term or trimester system.

In higher education, the academic year is from February to November. Most institutions use the semester system, where one semester is 16 weeks long, including a mid-semester break and exam period. Some institutions have a trimester system or summer and winter sessions which are in addition to the two semesters. Some institutions run courses year-round.

Australia at a glance

Capital: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

Major Cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide

Currency: Australian Dollar

Drives on the: Left

Calling Code: +61


  • Academies Australasia
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Australian College of Applied Psychology-Adelaide
  • Australian College of Applied Psychology-Brisbane
  • Australian College of Applied Psychology-Melbourne
  • Australian College of Applied Psychology-Sydney
  • Australian Institute of Applied Sciences - Sydney
  • Australian Institute of Applied Sciencs - Melbourne
  • Australian National Airline College
  • Australian National University College
  • Australian TESOL Training Centre-Brisbane
  • Brisbane North Institute of TAFE
  • Canberra Institute of Technology
  • Central College
  • Centre for English Language (CELUSA)
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Charles Sturt University Study Center-Brisbane
  • Charles Sturt University Study Center-Melbourne
  • Charles Sturt University Study Center-Sydney
  • Clarendon Business College
  • Curtin College
  • Curtin University - Perth
  • Deakin College
  • Deakin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Eynesbury College
  • Federation University Australia
  • Flinders International Study Center
  • Gold Coast Institute of TAFE
  • Griffith College
  • Griffith University
  • Hawthorn Melbourne
  • Health Skills Australia-Blackburn
  • Health Skills Australia-Brisbane
  • Health Skills Australia-Melbourne
  • Holmes Institute
  • James Cook University - Brisbane
  • La Trobe Melbourne
  • La Trobe Sydney
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie City Campus
  • Macquarie University
  • Martin College - Brisbane
  • Martin College - Gold Coast
  • Martin College - Melbourne
  • Martin College -Sydney
  • Melbourne Institute of Technology - Melbourne
  • Melbourne Institute of Technology - Sydney
  • Monash University
  • Murdoch Institute of Technology
  • Murdoch University
  • Navitas Professional Institute-Sydney
  • Navitas Professional Institute-Melbourne
  • Navitas College of Public Safety
  • Navitas English-Bondi
  • Navitas English-Brisbane
  • Navitas English-Darwin
  • Navitas English-Manly
  • Navitas English-Melbourne
  • Navitas English-North Metro TAFE
  • Navitas English-Perth
  • Navitas English-Sydney
  • Navitas Professional Institute-Adelaide
  • Navitas Professional Institute-Adelaide
  • Navitas Professional Institute-Melbourne
  • Navitas Professional Institute-Brisbane
  • Perth College of Business & Technology
  • Perth Institute of Business & Technology
  • Phoenix Academy
  • SAE Institute-Adelaide
  • SAE Institute-Brisbane
  • SAE Institute-Byron Bay
  • SAE Institute-Melbourne
  • SAE Institute-Perth
  • SAE Institute-Sydney
  • South Australian Institute of Business & Technology
  • Southern Cross University
  • Supreme Business College
  • Sydney Business & Travel Academy
  • Sydney Institute of Business & technology
  • Taylors College - Melbourne
  • Taylors College - Perth
  • Taylors College - Sydney
  • The University of Adelaide College
  • Universal Business School Sydney
  • University of Canberra
  • University of Canberra College
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • UTS:Insearch (guaranteed entry to University of Technology Sydney)
  • Western Sydney University
  • Western Sydney University International College
  • Western Sydney University Sydney City Campus

© 2019 TPNL Nepal 

All Rights Reserved

Developed by Ribbon Technology

Office Hours

Sunday - Friday

9.30 am to 5.30 pm

Close Menu